Life in this moment…

{entertaining, odd, and hopefully not too far away from reality}

So many good things… October 2, 2008

Filed under: everyday life — Lindsey @ 3:07 pm

These past few weeks have been filled with so many great memories and firsts…

I took the mega bus to Chicago last weekend. A whopping $47 to travel to and from Bean town is definitely worth the stomachache I had before boarding the double decker beast.  I had very chill seatmates both to and from the city and was blessed to be able to read, sleep and enjoy the travel time.

While in Chicago, Rachel and I went to the Indiana Dunes National Park on Friday (first national park stamp of year 27)…BEAUTIFUL weather and great fall trees to look at on the way. I wouldn’t have changed that day for anything.  THEN that night we went to see Mamma Mia for Rachel’s Birthday!!! STELLAR.  I love theater! We navigated the elevated train with local-ease (not really, but let’s pretend we did) and enjoyed urban people watching.

Now that school is back into swing, the bridge (youth center at church) is open after school daily and I get to hang with kids on Tuesday afternoons.  This past Tuesday there were twin 7th graders sitting across the booth from me at one point.  We were having awesome 7th grade conversations about how much we miss recess and the craziness of passing periods when this conversation took place:

T1: Dude, you look like a mouse.
T2: Whatch you talking about, at least I get dates.
T1: Nuhhhuh…you didn’t just go there…
T2: yeah I did, you only date fat girls
(then looking at me)
T2: no offense, You thick…that’s better than fat…
me: Are you calling me fat?
T2: no, I just told you, thick is better than fat…

Hilarious…I was totally dying on the inside….i love 7th grade boys and all the honesty and lack of awareness they have.

Today, I took a few minutes to head to the park and play. It is a glorious 65 degree day and I can’t think of much that I want to do more than be outside and soak in the beautiful fall.

 

2 Responses to “So many good things…”

  1. Tina Says:

    So – would you do the bus again? I’ve thought about it just for the idea of not having to drive. (Where does it drop you off in Chicago?) Sounds like a lovely time.

    I peeked into the Bridge the other day when I was waiting for rehearsal – looks like a great place to hang.

  2. rachel Says:

    I think we navigated the system with as much ease as could be expected. I think some of the locals had a harder time than we did. We rocked!

    Can’t wait to see you this weekend!!!


Leave a comment